H.E The President to officially open Parliament on Friday 18th Sept 2015

His Excellency the President of the Republic of Zambia, Mr Edgar Chagwa Lungu will on Friday, 18th September 2015 officially open the Fifth Session of the 11th National Assembly.  According to the Parliamentary calendar, this will be the last session of the 11th National Assembly. The significance of the Presidential Address to the House will be to explain policies and intentions of the Government for the upcoming parliamentary year. The Address will also identify some of the legislative measures the Government intends to introduce.


The Presidential Speech will be debated by Members of Parliament, usually for a period of just over two weeks after it is delivered.  This will be done through the Motion of Thanks to the President’s Address.


In the last session the nation sadly lost the Fifth Republican President, His Excellency Mr Michael Chilufya Sata, who died on 28th October 2014.

The House also lost two Honourable Members of Parliament, namely:

  1. Mr Chifita Matafwali, Member of Parliament for Bangweulu, who passed away on 29th May 2015; and
  2. Mr Humphrey Iddoh Mwanza, Member of Parliament for Solwezi West, who passed away on 3rd July 2015.

May their souls rest in peace.


Structure of the House

The last session had thirteen (13) by-elections. While some old members retained their seats after these elections, some new members got elected.  The Members of Parliament that retained their seats during the by-elections are:

  1. Ms Victoria Kalima, Member of Parliament for Kasenengwa (MMD);
  2. Mr. Micheal Katambo, Member of Parliament for Masaiti (PF);
  3. Mr. Kapembwa Simbao, Member of Parliament for Senga Hill (PF); and
  4. Ms Dora Siliya, Member of Parliament for Petauke (PF).


The new Members of Parliament that came through in the fourth session during the by-elections are:

  1. Mr. Rodgers Lingweshi, Member of Parliament for Mangango (PF);
  2. Hon Davies Chisopa, Member of Parliament for Mkushi South (PF);
  3. Hon Dawson Kafwaya, Member of Parliament for Solwezi Central (UPND);
  4. Ms Margaret Miti, Member of Parliament for Vubwi (PF);
  5. Hon Christabel Ngimbu, Member of Parliament for Zambezi West (PF);
  6. Mr Lawrence Sichalwe, Member of Parliament for Chawama (PF);
  7. Ms Patricia Mulasikwanda, MP, Member of Parliament for Mulobezi Constituency (PF);
  8. Mr Jacob Shuma, MP, Member of Parliament for Malambo Constituency (PF); and
  9. Mr Anthony Kasandwe, MP, Member of Parliament for Banguelu Constituency (PF).


The current composition of the House is therefore, as follows:


Patriotic Front (PF)                                                                               78

Nominated (PF)                                                                                     8

Total PF                                                                                                86

Movement for Multi-party Democracy (MMD)                                      34

United Party for National Development (UPND)                                  32

Independents (IND.)                                                                              1

Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD)                                    1

Alliance for Democracy and Development (ADD)                                  1

3 seats vacant namely: Kasama Central, Lubansenshi and Solwezi West.


Therefore, the total number of Members of Parliament, currently in the House is 155 of which 23 are women. 


Business of the House

The last session considered 22 Bills which were subsequently passed whilst one was deferred i.e the Constitution Amendment Bill No. 17. In addition, 839 Parliamentary questions, 7 Private members’ Motions and 50 Ministerial Statements were debated on the floor of the House.


Further, the House considered and adopted 22 Reports of Parliamentary Sessional Committees and Select Committees for ratification of Presidential Appointments to Constitutional Offices.


A total of 128 papers were laid on the Table of the House by Government Ministries and Quasi-Government Institutions.    


Topical issues that were debated in the last Session were as follows:



  1. The Constitution of Zambia (Amendment) Bill which was deferred.
  2. Referendum (Amendment) Bill.
  3. Property Transfer Tax (Amendment) Bill.
  4. Mines and Mineral Development Bill.
  5. Wildlife Bill which reverted ZAWA into a department of the Tourism and Arts Ministry.
  6. The Anti Terrorism (Amendment) Bill.
  7. The Urban and Regional Planning Bill.
  8. National Pension Scheme (Amendment) Bill.
  9. Local Authorities Superannuation Fund (Amendment) Bill.


Other Topical Issues Debated in the House

  1. Motion on the death of His Excellency the President of the Republic of Zambia, Mr Michael Chilufya Sata.
  2. Budget Address for the 2015 Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure.
  3. Report on the Parliamentary Select Committee appointed to scrutinise the Presidential Appointment of Hon Madam Justice Irene Chirwa Mambilima to serve as Chief Justice of the republic of Zambia.
  4. Ministerial Statement on the 2015 Mid-Year Economic and Budget review.
  5. Ministerial Statement on the roadmap for the Constitution making process.


The sitting which will begin in September is the longest sitting of the National Assembly as it also considers the Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure for the country. Thus the Members of Parliament will be considering proposals by the Minister of Finance and National Planning for the 2016 National Budget.