Parliament Buildings History

At the time of Zambia’s Independence in 1964, Parliament was housed in inadequate and unsuitable premises behind the Government’s Central Offices in Lusaka, commonly known as the Secretariat Area.  It was, therefore, apparent at the time of independence that a more fitting Parliament building should be constructed to meet future expansion and also to provide adequate Members’ sitting and office accommodation.

A site was chosen on the crown of a low hill in Lusaka which dominate the surrounding landscape and which was at one time site of the dwelling place of village Headman Lusaka, after whom the City of Lusaka is now named.

The new National Assembly building was planned so that its external appearance expresses the dignity and power of Government, while internally, it is planned to function as a centre of administration.  The focal point of the building is the Chamber, which is rich in decoration and colour in contrast to the rest of the building.

The building itself covers about one hectare and is designed on four main levels. These are the lower ground level (with main service rooms and under-cover parking), the podium level (with main public entrance foyer and the main private Members rooms), the first floor level (with the main administrative rooms, Members’ rooms and, centrally, the Chamber which was designed to seat 120 Members) and the gallery level. This latter has the Press, Public and Mr Speaker’s Galleries all designed to seat over 268 strangers.