Kalomo Central  Member of Parliament  Mr Harry Kamboni, MP, has been elected to serve as Member of the Inter -  Parliamentary Union (IPU) Committee on Human Rights of Parliamentarians.  Mr Kamboni emerged as  one of the 4 winners in an election which had  7 contestants at the just ended 145th IPU Assembly which was recently held in Kigali, Rwanda, from 11 to 15th October 2022.
The Kalomo Lawmaker who is also Vice President I of the IPU Zambia National Group will represent the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) Region on the Committee for a 5 year term on a body which has representation from  Africa, the Arab group, Asia - Pacific, Eurasia, Latin America/ the Caribbean and the Twelve plus group.
The Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians consists of 10  Members of Parliament from all regions of the world.  They are selected on the strength of their competencies and commitment to human rights. The Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians seeks to protect and defend all MPs worldwide. 
The Committee holds hearings, undertakes missions and sends trial observers based on complaints of alleged violations. During IPU Assemblies, IPU Members through the IPU Governing Council, approve the Committee’s decisions, hence, it highlights the importance  of Parliamentary solidarity. The Committee continues to speak out on cases until there is a satisfactory solution. 
Meanwhile, the Zambia National Group continues to hold on to the top 8 slots of delegations with the highest women representation at the just ended 145th IPU Assembly. The top 8 delegations with a high representation of women were Zambia and Cameroon at 57% while Bahrain, Canada, Djibouti, Poland, Saudi Arabia and Tomor Leste had 60% representation. At the 144th IPU Assembly held in March 2022 in Bali, Zambia was on the top 5 with 57% women representation in the delegation.
The Zambian Delegation was led by Speaker of the National Assembly, The Right Honourable Madam Nelly B K Mutti, MP. Other women in the delegation included Ms Given Katuta, MP, Ms Jacqueline Sabao, MP and Ms Tasila Lungu, MP. The men in the delegation were Mr Harry Kamboni, MP, Mr Oliver Amutike, MP and Mr Kenny Siachisumo, MP.
The 145th IPU Assembly which was held in Kigali, Rwanda,  was attended by over 1,300 delegates and the Assembly focused on the overall theme of Gender equality and gender-sensitive parliaments as drivers of change for a more resilient and peaceful world.