The National Assembly of Zambia Hosts the first ever African Children’s Parliament

The National Assembly of Zambia hosted theAfrican Children’s Parliamentfor the first time in its history, which took place from the 15thto 16th July, 2022, at Parliament Buildings, under the theme: Creating an Africa Fit for Children. The 2022Children’s Parliament took place on the side - lines of the African Union (AU) Mid-year Heads of State Coordinating Meeting held in Lusaka from the 14th to 17th July, 2022.

The 2022 Children’s Parliamentofficially sponsored by the Economic, Social and Cultural Council (AU-ECOSOC), UNICEF and the Joining Forces Alliance, drew participants from Countries across the African Continent that included, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Kenya, Malawi, Angola, Eswatini, Tanzania, South Africa, Niger, Sierra Leoneand South Sudan, While, some children in other countries like Ghana participated virtually via zoom. The 2022 African Children’s Parliament developed resolutions that were eventually passed on to the AU Commissioner, emanating from the following topics: Food and Nutrition Security;Climate Change and Resilience; Child Protection;Child Participation andSocial Protection.

Meanwhile, in her opening speech as Guest of Honour, the Rt Hon Ms Malungo Chisangano, MP, First Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, committed the National Assembly of Zambia to continue partnering and supporting the work of all Child Focussed Organisations in ensuring that children’s rights were realised through the enactment of child friendly legislation and ensuring access to Parliament is provided to children. The 2022 Children’s Parliament was also attended by the Minister of Community Development and Social Services, Hon Doreen Mwamba, MP, UNICEF Deputy Country Representative, Ms Josephine Ippe, the Chairperson of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights of the Child, the Chairperson of the Joining Forces Alliance, Mr Simba Machingaidze, the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Caucus on Children (PCC), Mr Joseph Munsanje, MP,the Acting Deputy Clerk (Administration), Ms Loveness Mayaka.