Committee on Government Assurances

Committee Type: 

Functions of the Committee

Functions of the Committee: 

Under Standing Order No. 155(2) of the House, the Committee is mandated to scrutinise all assurances and undertakings made by Cabinet Ministers and Deputy Ministers on the floor of the House with the objective of ensuring that the same are implemented.

  1. The Committee on Government Assurances consists of eight members other than the Vice-President, Ministers, Deputy Ministers or any members holding or acting in any office prescribed by or under an Act of Parliament, appointed by the Speaker at the commencement of every session.  The Committee, whose quorum is four, elects its own Chairperson.
  2. The Committee:
  • scrutinises the assurances, promises and undertakings and other matters related to the foregoing given by Ministers from time to time on the floor of the House;
  •   comments on delays in implementation and also the adequacy of the action taken;
  •  examines annual reports of all Government ministries and departments in the context of the autonomy and efficiency of Government ministries and departments and determines whether the affairs of the said bodies are being managed according to relevant Acts of  Parliament, established regulations, rules and general orders;
  •  exercises such other functions that are not covered by paragraphs above as may be allotted to the Committee by the Speaker from time; and reports on:
    •  the extent to which such assurances, promises, undertaking and any      other matter related to the foregoing have been implemented; and
    •  where implemented, whether such implementation has taken place  within the minimum time necessary for the purpose.