The Department was created to service the various committees of the National Assembly through

  1. Clerking  sessional and select committees;
  2. Preparing and circulating agenda for committee meetings;
  3. Advising the Chairpersons of sessional and select committees on any matter that requires   their attention;
  4. Guiding committees on matters of procedure in accordance with the relevant Standing Orders and established Parliamentary procedure and practice;
  5. Arranging and ensuring good attendance of witnesses;
  6. Arranging visits to be undertaken by committees;
  7. Custody of minutes of committee proceedings;
  8. Carrying out correspondence between the committees and any appropriate authority;
  9. Preparing draft annual and special reports of the committees; and
  10. Carrying out any other duties as directed by the Clerk of the National Assembly.