Parliamentarians have been called upon to actively assume their rightful position as the platforms that are uniquely designed and mandated to educate their citizenry on how best to address contentious issues and relationships.
Addressing the 140th Assembly of the Inter- Parliamentary Union in Doha, Qatar on Tuesday, 8th April 2019, Speaker of the National Assembly Rt. Hon Mr Justice Dr Patrick Matibini, SC., BA, FCIArb, MP, said it was becoming clear that Parliaments are best tools and prime institutions through which divergent interests of multiple groups could be ably addressed because of the nature of the parliamentary process.
In his contribution to the General Debate whose theme is ‘’ Parliaments as platforms to enhance Education for Peace, Security and the Rule of Law” Dr Matibini stated that “Education has an important role in promoting the Rule of Law and the enhancement of a culture of lawfulness”.  He added that no country can meaningfully address the challenges of livelihoods of its citizens without recognising the pivotal role of adhering to the demands of peace and Rule of Law.
Dr Matibini said that the promotion of Peace and Justice is one of the Global Goals that make up the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and called on the gathering to tolerate divergent views and promote tolerance and good governance in their environments.
He challenged the Parliamentarians gathering to take up leadership in fostering and sherpeding sustainable and locally – supported reforms; training Rule of Law practitioners, conducting research and holding forums where knowledge can be shared. Dr Matibini said that this would in the long run contribute positively and immensely to the respective jurisdictions towards the enhancement of Peace, Security and the Rule of Law.

The 140th Assembly of the IPU is being held in Doha, Qatar and was opened on Saturday, 6th April, 2019 at the Sheraton Hotel. His Highness the Amir Sheikh Tamin bin Hamad al Thani graced the inauguration with a speech in which he welcomed the over 2,200 delegates from over 180 parliaments of the world.  The Zambian Delegation includes Honourable Alexander Chiteme, MP, Minister of National Development Planning, Mr Rogers Mwewa, MP, Ms Emerine Kabanshi, MP, Ms Given Katuta,MP, Mr Kalobo Pavyuma, MP and Mrs Cecilia Mbewe, Clerk of the National Assembly.