The Sixth Ordinary Session of the Fourth Parliament of the Pan African Parliament(PAP)is taking place in Midrand, South Africa under the theme “Winning the Fight against Corruption: A Sustainable Path to Africa’s Transformation “.

During the official opening of the session on Monday 7th May, 2018, the Guest of Honour, His Excellency, Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission, emphasised the need to involve the African people more effectively in the management of the affairs of the African Union. His Excellency Mahamat identified the Pan African Parliament as an institution that had a fundamental role to play in this process.

The Pan African Parliament has also sworn in new Members from Parliaments across Africa. Zambia’s Honourable Maxus Ngonga, MP, was among new Members sworn in on Monday, 7th May, 2018.

The Zambian Parliament is represented by Professor Geoffrey Lungwangwa, MP (Leader of Delegation), Honourable Mutinta C Mazoka, MP, Honourable Margaret Miti, MP, Honourable Anthony Mumba, MP and Honourable Maxus Ng’onga, MP.

One of the major milestones of the session was the election of a new Bureau of the Pan African Parliament on 10th May, 2018. Members of the Pan African Parliament re-elected the incumbent President, Honourable Rodger Nkodo Dang from Cameroon. The other candidates were Honourable Chief Charumbira (Zimbabwe) and Honourable Moustapha El Gendy from Egypt. The PAP also elected its Vice Presidents with Honourable Stefan Julius Masele from Tanzania (Eastern Region) scooping the First Vice Presidency. Other Vice Presidents are Honourable Bouras Djamal from Algeria (Northern Region) and Honourable Haidara Cisse from Mali (Western Region). The Southern Region slot of the Vice Presidency is expected to be filled at a later date to be advised by the Clerk of the Pan African Parliament.

Zambia has been nominated to represent the Southern African Regional Caucus on the Pan African Parliament Bureau of the Women’s Caucus. Honourable Margaret Miti, MP was nominated during a meeting held on 11th May, 2018, at the Pan African Parliament.