National Assembly Football Club prepares for 2018 Super League Season

The National Assembly management has congratulated National Assembly Football Club for earning its deserved promotion to Zambia's elite football league for the 2018 football season. This was in a statement made by Mr Roy Ngulube, Deputy Clerk (Administration) who is also the club trustee, when he officiated at a strategic planning retreat for the Club at Chita Lodge in Kafue on Saturday, 4th November, 2017.

Mr Ngulube stated that the football teams have special impact on the public image of the National Assembly as they enhance publicity of the National Assembly and its activities in line with the National Assembly Communication Strategy component of 'Taking Parliament Closer to the People'. He further said that management values the players of the football teams and pledged that management will endeavour to continue giving support to the club as part of its corporate social responsibility. He stressed that by doing so, it helps to keep the young people away from negative vices such as drug abuse and alcoholism, among others. He acknowledged that management was aware of the challenges that the club was facing during the past season and commended the Executive committee members for earning promotion to the Super League amidst numerous challenges.

Mr Ngulube implored the Executive Committee members to work as a team and foster success for the club to retain its position in the Super league. He urged them to bring on board all stakeholders so as to promote the spirit of inclusiveness.

National Assembly Football Club organised a strategic planning retreat to prepare for the 2018 soccer league after earning promotion to the Super league, opening up with a difference of twenty-two points ahead of the closest rival with four games to the close of the league. The Club supports the senior boys' team, developmental boys' team targeting ages ranging from 14 to 18 years, and a girls team which is also in the women Super league, all with sponsorship from National Assembly grant, and contributions made by Members of Parliament and staff.